Who Needs to Take This Course?
Feeling a little uncertain or frustrated on the road lately? Received more than one traffic citation in the last year? Have you been court ordered to take an 8-Hour Course?
It might be time for a Driver Improvement Course! You can change all your bad driving habits, slay your aggressive driving dragons, and learn defensive driving strategies all in this one course. With Florida DMV-approved content, this course will meet all the requirements of court-ordered Aggressive Driving and Driving While License Suspended, but it is appropriate for anyone who would like to just feel safer on the road as well. You can complete the course from the comfort of your home, in your own time, at your own pace. In addition, the course offers
- Engaging animations and videos to keep you motivated;
- Self-paced format with progress saving to maximize your time;
- Defensive and safe driving strategies to keep you safe on the road;
- Affordable pricing so you can get started right away;
- Completion certificates emailed directly to you;
- 24/7 phone support to get you started right away.
Taking the Course Online
The Florida 8-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course is offered 100% online, which means you can take the course at your own pace wherever you’d like! Our new software ensures that you’ll be able to complete the course in sections on any device or browser.
Our course is approved by the Department Of Highway Safety Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
The Florida 8-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course is broken down into eight easy-to-understand sections that cover topics such as
- Florida traffic laws
- The dangers of reckless driving
- Techniques for defensive driving
Each section includes videos and interactive graphics that will help you retain and make sense of the information. At the end of each chapter, there is a short multiple-choice quiz, as well as a cumulative final exam. You must score an 80% or higher on the final exam to officially complete the Florida 8-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course. Don’t stress, there’s no time limit on the final exam and our software allows you to pause and save your work at any time.
Some Florida Counties such as Miami Dade and Broward allow you to take our 8-hour Basic Driver Improvement Course to avoid points on your license for a traffic ticket if you’ve already taken the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course in the last 12 months. This option is only available to you ONCE. You can check with the clerk of courts in the county where you received your traffic citation to see if this is an available option.
After you successfully complete the course you will receive a certificate of completion. It is your responsibility to return your certificate of completion to the county clerk’s office in the county where you received your ticket or to the judge’s office.
We hope that you enjoy American Safety Institute’s 8-Hour Basic Driver Improvement course. Good Luck!